环境健康与安全

Jacobs Vehicle Systems已通过ISO TS14001和IATF 16949认证,致力于成为负责任的环境和社区管理者。我们积极寻求保护和维持环境的方法,以改善我们对生态的影响。我们的团队坚持不懈地努力降低能耗,在过去三年间减少了27%的能耗。Jacobs还回收了超过60%的固体废物,所有废料中有95%以上实现了回收利用。

环境管理政策

Jacobs Vehicle Systems, Inc.的目标是负责任地管理环境和社区,并得到社会的广泛认可。

因此,Jacobs Vehicle Systems致力于:

  • 履行其所有合规义务;
  • 保护环境,防止污染;
  • 持续改善我们的环境管理体系绩效;
  • 不断降低风险。

认证

下载ISO 14001认证证书 
下载IATF 16949认证证书 

承包商和访客安全政策及要求

承包商是Jacobs日常运营中的重要一员。因此,我们在环境健康与安全方面对所有承包商和访客规定了与我们员工相同的要求。从被选中直至项目完成,承包商必须遵守本文中所述的Jacobs《承包商安全计划》中的指导方针。

所有潜在承包商均须填写《承包商安全披露表》方可被确认为合格承包商。该文档提交至EHS部门后,方可开始进行项目协调。

我们向承包商提供的所有这些工具都旨在帮助您了解我们的环境健康和安全规定及要求,并确保所有签约雇员在我们的设施内工作时能够获得安全而富有成效的体验。

《访客安全通行证》

这份指导和培训文档旨在向承包商和访客告知重要的联系电话、环境和安全政策,并且其中还包括一份设施地图。

下载《访客安全通行证》 

《承包商安全披露表》

下载《承包商安全披露表》 

高危险性评估

如果承包商需要进入受限空间,进行危险化学品搬运或修复、高电压设施上锁挂牌、热加工、挖沟和挖掘等活动,或者从事任何需要使用坠落防护装备的工作,他们都必须填写此表格。

下载高风险评估 

承包商环境要求

在项目之初,由EHS负责人、设施经理或项目经理向所有承包商(及分包商)提供的培训。

下载承包商环境要求 

噪音问题

Jacobs Vehicle Systems®已收到很多有关发动机制动器使用和噪音的询问。沿道路和公路设置的发动机制动标志牌引发了居民和驾驶员的诸多争议。此信息旨在告知相关各方发动机排气噪音的实际情况,并提供必要的数据和信息以便人们了解此问题。我们希望此信息对您有帮助,并欢迎您提出反馈。

发动机排气噪音相关信息

问题与解答:

我看到过写有“No Jake Brakes”(未采用Jake Brakes)的标志。这是什么意思?

Jake Brake®是Jacobs Vehicle Systems的注册商标。“Jake Brake”一词有时被误用于指代压缩释放型发动机制动器。实际上该词是指Jacobs Vehicle Systems的所有减速产品。如果将发动机制动器用于发动机排气管消音不良或未消音的车辆(例如使用直管),声音会非常刺耳,这就是您会看到这种标志的原因。您看到的标志可能不当使用了我们的商标,使其与品牌相关联。

采用发动机制动器的大型卡车所发出的噪音令我饱受困扰,我该怎么办?

联邦政府规定1978年之后生产的所有车辆在交付给客户时必须达到噪音要求,因此卡车作为新车在离开经销商的店面之前早已满足此项要求。问题的真正根源来自于经过改装的或有缺陷的排气系统。使用发动机制动器并不会引起问题。居民和卡车司机都可通过各自的努力来降低噪音。如果您是居民,请敦促当地警方禁止会发出噪音的车辆通行并检查其消音器是否完好。如果您是卡车司机,一旦发现有人驾驶排气系统噪声过大的车辆,请敦促此人进行修理。

噪音信息和法规帮助

为了更好地了解发动机排气噪音和Jacobs的立场,请查看我们更新后的《发动机制动噪音手册》或《白皮书》。

如果您听说一项即将出台的法规或者您了解到您所在的社区正在考虑实施一项规定,禁止使用Jake Brake或发动机制动器,请通过联系表格告知我们。

各州噪声相关法律:快速参考

我们按州罗列了美国的各项噪音管制法,包括分贝限制和违规罚款,方便您进行快速参考

Environmental health and safety

Jacobs Vehicle Systems is an ISO TS14001 and IATF 16949 certified facility and strives to be a responsible steward of our environment and community. We are committed to improving our ecological impact by actively pursuing ways to protect and sustain our environment. Efforts to reduce energy consumption are ongoing, and the team has seen a 27% energy reduction in the last three years. Jacobs also recycles over 60% of its solid waste and over 95% of all waste materials.

Environmental Management Policy

It is the goal of Jacobs Vehicle Systems, Inc. to be viewed as a responsible steward of the environment and to the community.

Therefore, Jacobs Vehicle Systems is committed to the following:

  • Fulfilling all of its compliance obligations;
  • Protecting the environment and the prevention of pollution;
  • Continually improving our environmental management system performance; and
  • Continually reducing risk.

Certifications

Download ISO 14001 Certification 
Download IATF 16949 Certification 

Contractor and Visitor Safety Policy and Expectations

Contractors are a critical aspect of our daily operations at Jacobs. That is why we hold all Contractors and Visitors to the same Environmental Health and Safety expectations as our own employees. From the moment a potential contractor is selected until the time they complete the job, they must follow the guidelines of our Contractor Safety Program as outlined here.

All prospective contractors must complete the Contractors Safety Disclosure to be recognized as an Approved Contractor. Once the document has been submitted to the EHS Department, coordination of the project can begin.

All of these tools are provided to our Contractors to help guide you through our Environmental Health and Safety rules and expectations and ensure that all contract employees have a safe and productive experience while working in our facility.

Visitors' Safety Passport

A guidance & training document to inform contractors and visitors about important contact numbers, environmental and safety policies, and a map of the facility. 

Download Visitors' Safety Passport 

Contractors Safety Disclosure

Download Contractors Safety Disclosure 

High Hazard Assessment

To be completed by all contractors performing Confined Space Entry, Hazardous Chemical Handling or Remediation, High Voltage LOTO, Hot Work, Trenching and Excavation, and any jobs requiring the use of Fall Protection Equipment.

Download High Hazard Risk Assessment 

Contractors Environmental Expectations

Training presented to all contractors (and sub-contractors) by the EHS Leader, Facilities Manager, or Project Manager at the start of the job.

Download Contractor Environmental Expectations 

Noise Concerns

Jacobs Vehicle Systems® has received inquiries regarding engine brake use and noise. The posting of engine brake signs along the roads and highways has created much controversy with both residents and drivers alike. This information has been established to inform interested parties about engine exhaust noise and provide the data and information necessary to understand the issue. We hope you find the information useful, and we welcome any feedback.

Information on Engine Exhaust Noise

Questions and answers:

I've seen signs posted that read "No Jake Brakes.” What does this mean?

Jake Brake® is a registered trademark of Jacobs Vehicle Systems. The term "Jake Brake" is sometimes incorrectly used to refer to compression release type engine brakes in general. The term correctly refers to all of Jacobs Vehicle Systems’ retarding products. When an engine brake is used on a vehicle with a poorly muffled or un-muffled engine exhaust (using straight pipes for example), the sound can be offensive, which is what prompted the sign you saw. The sign you saw might have unfairly used our trademark, making it brand specific.

I'm bothered by the noise of big trucks using their Engine Brakes, what can I do?

The federal government has required all vehicles manufactured since 1978 to meet noise requirements when delivered to the customer, so trucks have been required to meet the requirements when they leave the dealership as new vehicles for quite some time. The real problem here is modified or defective exhaust systems. The use of the engine brake is not the problem. Citizens and truck drivers can both do their part to keep the noise down. Citizens, encourage your local police to stop noisy vehicles and check them for muffler integrity. Truckers, if you know someone who is operating a vehicle with an excessively loud exhaust system, encourage him or her to fix it.

Noise information and ordinance help

To better understand engine exhaust noise and Jacobs' standpoint, view our updated engine brake noise brochure or white paper.

If you are made aware of an upcoming legislative ordinance, or it is your understanding that your community is considering an ordinance that prohibits Jake Brake or engine brake use, please let us know by using our contact form.

Noise laws by state: Quick Reference

We have compiled US noise control laws by state including decibel limits and fines for ordinance violations for quick reference.